BA Auto Care | What you should know about Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS)

Brian England, Tue, Sep 28, 2021

Since 2015, Driver Assistance Systems (DAS) have become common in most new cars. There are a total of 5 levels to these systems. A Level 5 vehicle is fully autonomous in most circumstances.

It is important to note that there is a Level 0 group of driver assistance systems where the driver is directly involved in the process. Here is a list of Level 0 features:

  1. Parking sensors
  2. Surround view
  3. Lane departure warning light or audible
  4. Blind spot warning
  5. Forward collision warning
  6. Pedestrian warning
  7. Night vision
  8. Rear or pedestrian and traffic alert

Many new cars have Level 1 features where the car takes over functions from the driver. They include:

  1. Adaptive Cruise Control
  2. Emergency Brake Assist
  3. Automatic Brake Assist
  4. Lane keeping and lane centering

Here is a description of each of these four systems. Keep in mind there are differences between how each manufacturer’s system works. It is critical that you read the handbook and learn how your system works and your part in activating and monitoring the system.

Active Cruise Control (ACC). The system constantly monitors the vehicle in front and keeps your car at a safe distance. On some systems, you choose between three distances.

Emergency Brake Assist. The emergency brake will automatically come on if the car starts to roll and the foot brake is not being used.

Intelligent Brake Assist (IBA). The brakes will be automatically boosted and applied in the event of possible collision. (FAB)

Lane Keep Assist (LKA). This system will gently nudge you back into your lane if you are drifting. Other systems take over the steering and keep you in the center of the lane.

creditSource link

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply
Enable registration in settings - general
Compare items
  • Total (0)
Shopping cart